Overview about Indian Visa




Citizens of all countries, except Nepal and Bhutan and Maldives(for a stay up to 90 days), require a visa to enter India. Citizens of 113 countries can obtain online E visa for if they are visiting Indian for recreation , sight seeing , casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit. The list of 113 countries is provided in below given Indian E Visa Section. All other nationals who require a to enter Indian should apply for visa at the Indian Diplomatic Missions in their country of residence or nearest Mission en route.

Nepalese or Bhutanese citizens need no passport or visa but should possess documents for their identification when proceeding from their countries.However, if they are entering India from a place other than their own country then possession of passport is a must. Further, if they arriving from mainland China, visa is required (note: does not incl. Hong Kong or Macao)

Also visa is exempted for those holding a PIO (Person of Indian Origin) card.

Apart from getting visa foreigners are required to obtain Protected/restricted area permit, if they are planning to visit any of the protected/restricted areas.

Important Note:

Ø Nationals of Maldives require a visa to India, other than tourism purpose (stay up to 90 days).

Ø Citizens of Nepal require a visa when entering India from China.

Ø If citizens of Nepal and Bhutan enter Indian without passport or visa from any country other than the Nepal or Bhutan, entry in to Indian will be refused

"A separate Visa regime exists for diplomatic/official passport holders".

Indian E-Tourist Visa

Who is eligble for Indian E Tourist Visa

List of countries who is eligible for Indian E Tourist Visa

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand,Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam.

Eligibility to get Indian E Tourist Visa



Who is not eligible:



Disclaimer :The information given here is general in nature, for specific queries please check with the Indian Embassy /High Commission in your country or Ministry of External Affairs and Home Affairs, New Delhi. With any nation, India's immigration laws may change without notice. The information in this report does not constitute legal advice.

Last Updated ( Sunday, 13 December 2015 16:22 )