VisaInfo - The Travel Knowldege

Schengen Visa

E-mail Print PDF

Know Schengen

The 1985 Schengen Agreement abolished immigration controls at the borders of member countries, creating the Schengen Area. Members of the Schengen Agreement share a uniform short-term visa called the Schengen visa. The visa can be issued by any member state in lieu of its own national short-term visa, and it is valid for travel throughout the Schengen Area. Members of the Schengen Agreement also share passport and border controls.

The Schengen Convention is a great step towards freedom of circulation of people. Foreigners bearing a valid short-term visa delivered by one of the Schengen states can leave and later re-enter the Schengen Territory without having to ask for a visa again, on condition that they have a valid passport and relevant travel document and a multiple entry visa.

The absence of border checks at the internal borders is compensated for by extensive cooperation and high Schengen standards setting out rules in many areas, including police and judicial cooperation, visa and consular matters, and personal data protection. In terms of security, all these measures should prevent the misuse of the freedom of movement for criminal purposes.

Indian Nationals can obtain short stay visa for a period ranging from one to ninety days, valid for all countries of the Schengen Territory

The following (26) states now make up the Schengen Area:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Italy
  12. Latvia
  13. Lithuania
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Luxembourg
  16. Malta
  17. Netherlands
  18. Poland
  19. Portugal
  20. Slovak Republic
  21. Slovenia
  22. Spain
  23. Sweden

3 Non-EU countries

  1. Iceland
  2. Norway
  3. Switzerland

Although Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland (rep. of), Romania and the United Kingdom are members of the European Union, they are not members of the Schengen area.


Last Updated ( Tuesday, 28 February 2012 06:25 )  

Contact Info

+91 9663380969
+91 9846620007

Email :

Indus Global Mobility Solutions
# 51/14, Doddathoguru,
Godrej E City Entrance,
Electronic City,
Bangalore -560100

Business Visa Requirements

Gulf Visa

You are here: Home Schengen Visa Know Schengen